Stanford Update

Sorry for the slow posting, email me to remind me to post if you are dying to hear. 🙂

So, what is new… I met the Dalai Lama! He is the first religious leader that I actually have respect for. He admitted that religion must embrace science as it goes on and is just a moral teaching. Things that people believed in the past have been proven wrong and you just move on, you don’t fight vehimently about “god creating the world in 7 days” or whatever. (I know that is christian but I don’t know about the buddist story). He said that values don’t come from religion, they come from you, religion is just a way of codifying your feelings if you want. He has as much respect for atheists as christians as muslims as anyone. It is not their religion that makes them, it is their personality and values. Just an amazing man, very kind and nice. He said that if he wasn’t the Dalai Lama, he would have been an engineer, so I was proud 🙂

What else, not much to report on.. My project for data mining will beat google 🙂 Just watch out Larry and Sergey, here I come.

Leave a Reply

